List of UEFA European Championship Winners

Winners List of UEFA European Championship: Many countries have won the prestigious title of the UEFA European Championship. It is always a team effort that led them to achieve the victorious feat. Some of the teams manage to reach the quarterfinal and semi-final round, but it is the only top-performing team that battles into the finals of the UEFA European Champions. Bellow Check out UEFA Euro Winners List.

So here for your information, we have come up with the Winners List of the UEFA European Championship that will let you know the top-performing team in the history of the European Championship.

Uefa euro winners
Uefa euro winners

Previous UEFA Euro Championship Winners:

We being the ardent viewers of the Euro Championships, many of us might be wondering who are the past winners of the UEFA Euro Championships? Or which team has performed outstandingly to clinch the title of the Euro Championship before?. So to answer all the above questions we have described in detail a list of the Past Winners of the UEFA Euro Championships.

After a couple of months, the 16th edition of the tournament will kick start, hosted by Turkey and Italy. It is an important tournament for us as it takes place after every four years and after the FIFA world cup, it is the second biggest international event in the world.

Year Host(s) Winner Score Runner-up
1960 France Soviet Union 2-1 aet Yugoslavia
1964 Spain Spain 2-1 Soviet Union
1968 Italy Italy 1-1 aet / 2-0 replay Yugoslavia
1972 Belgium West Germany 3-0 Soviet Union
1976 Yugoslavia Czechoslovakia 2-2 aet / (5-3) ps West Germany
1980 Italy West Germany 2-1 Belgium
1984 France France 2-0 Spain
1988 West Germany Netherlands 2-0 Soviet Union
1992 Sweden Denmark 2-0 Germany
1996 England Germany 2-1 asdet Czech Republic
2000 Belgium & Netherlands France 2-1 asdet Italy
2004 Portugal Greece 1-0 Portugal
2008 Austria & Switzerland Spain 1-0 Germany
2012 Poland & Ukraine Spain 4-0 Italy
2016 France Portugal 1–0 aet France

*aet = after extra time
*asdet =after sudden death extra time
*ps = after penalty shootout

UEFA Euro 2021

UEFA Euro 2021 is the 16th Edition of the championship, the quadrennial international men’s football championship of Europe organized after every four years by the UEFA, the football organization. Euro 2021 tournament will be held across 12 host cities in European countries from 11 June 2021 and both the semi-final and final match will be held at Wembley Stadium in London on 11th July 2021. Also, it is for the first time, a video assistant referee (VAR) system will be used at the UEFA European Championship.

Also see: Euro 2021 Schedule in IST

Who has the most European Championship Titles?

Only two countries, Spain and Germany hold a record of the most European Championship Titles, with 3 titles each. France stands at the second spot with 2 titles. All other participating countries have won the Championship only once.

Who Won UEFA Euro 2016

Portugal for the first time in history clinches the UEFA Euro 2016 title after defeating the host team France with extra time. It was a sensational 1-0 victory at the Stade de France stadium. Spain the two-time defending championship, in 2008 and 2012 tournament got eliminated by Italy in the 16th round. The event was hosted in France from 10th June to 10th July 2016.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *